Your Username:
Your Password:

[ sign up | recover ]

Discussion Forums » In The News
Homeschoolers and Abuse
0 likes [|reply]
19 Mar 2010, 23:40
lithium layouts.
Here we have both - straight out of school (5 or 6 year course) and post-Bachelor's degree (4 year course, the one I'm doing). I would approximate it to about a quarter of all med places in Australia are the high-school-leavers, and the other three quarters is postgrad. I did go for the school leavers' one but didn't have the marks to get in, so I did a BSc first.
0 likes [|reply]
20 Mar 2010, 07:35
~RedFraggle~
Same here. There's even a small number of med schools which are exclusively for post-grads. But overall I'd say about 75% of med students have come straight from high school. About 15 - 25% do a science degree first, and if they do well enough they can apply straight to second year of medicine.
0 likes [|reply]
19 Mar 2010, 22:46
*Forever Changing*
Which is why the testing every other grade works, in Colorado you are required to teach them certain subjects, BUT you have the option to teach them what they want to learn in that subject. You can teach them what you think is important as well as what they want to learn. I absolutely think there is room for both what the state requires and what interests them.
0 likes [|reply]
20 Mar 2010, 12:03
.November.Butterfly.
i think the idea of unschooling is awesome, following your childs lead is great. But i totaly agree there has to be a range of subjects in there, for the reasons you've said here it would be stupid to limit their options because they didn't want to learn it when they were a kid!!
I don't necesserely agree with that article, but i thought it was relavent to the discussion here.
0 likes [|reply]
19 Mar 2010, 16:37
Sarah*